New Beginnings in Philadelphia

This Friday began at 5AM with my sport pilot checkride, and ended 22 hours and 400 miles later, feverishly unloading my stuffed car into my boyfriend P.’s apartment.

I barely remember Saturday – a blur of not sleeping, sleeping, resting, unpacking, sleeping, not sleeping… We did go for a 4 mile jog, going up along the Schuylkill river for the first time.  Somehow, on our first day living together, we managed to get in a fight over how we would handle our future not-even-remotely-being-considered-to-be-born-anytime-soon children when they reached college age.

Sunday: cleaning cleaning unpacking cleaning.  P. had bought me flowers on Friday night in recognition of me finally earning my pilot’s license; I’ve been breaking the big bunch down and now there are little vases of flowers everywhere and they make me smile every time I see them.

I braved two city grocery stores on Sunday afternoon, somehow managing to sort of have fun and not have a panic attack out of claustrophobia.  Hauling five packed cloth bags back in the rain was my strength training for the day!

P. made awesome guacamole for while we were cleaning (and listening to NASCAR radio), and I made Veganomicon’s hot sauce glazed tempeh, with garlic mashed potatoes and jalapeno corn gravy (also Veganomicon) for dinner.  Too late I realized the gravy was supposed to be food processed smooth at the end, but it was pretty good chunky style, too!

The apartment is getting better and better!  It’s not quite where I’d hoped it’d be by the end of the weekend, but I do tend to be a little bit unrealistic in my expectations sometimes. It’s good enough that I should be able to spend entire days here without getting depressed or going crazy – which was the goal!

I’d hoped to check out a new MMA gym this weekend too, but now I’m thinking Tuesday even instead of Monday – still too many chores I’d like to do today.

And now – I need to try to sleep some more.  Too many changes too quickly mean I’m leaping awake at the smallest noises, brain instantly in high gear.  I miss sleep!

About seejanefight

20-something cube warrior by day, possessed suddenly in June, 2010 by a desire to start cage fighting. This blog is about my efforts to: 1) Become a half-decent MMA fighter - i.e., have at least one actual cage fight (goal date - 6/15/2012). 2) Finish earning my pilot's license (goal date: 12/31/2010). 3) Completely eradicate every last vestige of Lyme and related diseases from my body (12/31/2013). 4) Move to Philadelphia (2/18/2010). 5) Keep a day job while accomplishing goals 1-4!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment